Reflections

Before I commenced my studies, I had never considered writing a blog. I didn’t kept a diary or a journal growing up and assumed they were nothing more than an outlet for someone’s thoughts. This assignment has taught me they can be much more than that. I have learnt this medium can be great way to communicate with an audience.

Over the course of the semester I was challenged to research an idea, develop an argument and publish my thoughts on four different topics related to communication in a professional context.

First though,  I had to learn how to use the WordPress platform. I really enjoyed this aspect of the assignment. Using a medium I was not used to definitely put me out of my comfort zone. Following my posts from week 3 to week 9 I can see the progression made in style and formatting as I became used to the post creation tools. I learned how to display videos, caption photos and break up the text for readability.

Having to consider the design of the blog helped me develop stronger researching skills. I had to think outside the box as I looked for different types of media that I thought would enhance the posts as well as engage with readers.

 If I have to complete a blog for any future assignments, I would like to further develop my skills in design and layout of the posts. With better html coding skills, I can further individualise the posts without the constraints of the standard tools.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑